Menu
Leitbilder, Erfolgsbedingungen und Handlungsempfehlungen für eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft

Models, conditions for success and recommended actions for a resource-light society and how they resonate with experts and citizens

How do we wish to live in future? On a cooperative and regional basis? On a business-friendly and environmentally-friendly basis? Moderately? Frugally? Or with as little “stuff” as possible? We should not set any limits when thinking about the kind of future we want. The fact is that if our society wants to conserve its resources and preserve a high quality of life at the same time, something has to change.

By Holger Glockner

How do we wish to live in future? On a cooperative and regional basis? On a business-friendly and environmentally-friendly basis? Moderately? Frugally? Or with as little “stuff” as possible? We should not set any limits when thinking about the kind of future we want. The fact is that if our society wants to conserve its resources and preserve a high quality of life at the same time, something has to change. At Z_punkt, we have created an exciting range of options for a resource-light society within the framework of a collective research project for the Federal Environment Agency *. In so doing, we have developed five models with the help of scenario technology. They are deliberately quite different, but the key initial question is the same: how do we create a society that is sparing in its use of resources without neglecting quality of life? The models do not represent an ideal scenario here but set out on a voyage of discovery to find out which social developments would be possible. The scenarios developed by us jointly with our partners were discussed with experts during the project and were used in parallel by sociodimensions to ask citizens, which models they could envisage for their and our future. The discussion about a sustainable future is an ongoing theme for technical experts but the public discussion is currently expanding on many levels, making the scenarios more topical than ever as a trigger for the debate about the future. 

The dominant logic of doing business is currently still based on significant and increasing consumption of energy and materials. By continuing to focus on this growth model, there is a risk that our natural basis for life will be permanently destroyed. Although a broad range of positive blessings has evolved from this way of living and doing business - such as increasing life expectancy, better education and health care or greater security and prosperity - “carrying on as before” is not a sustainable option for the future.

Global challenges

Before we speak of a possible lever for a change in our use of resources in future, we shall look at the global challenges that humanity will have to face in the next few decades. The most urgent challenges are dealt with and summarised in the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals. We see major progress, especially from an economic and social perspective. There are, however, no grounds for satisfaction. Our climate and our environment are in an alarming state without there being any improvement in sight. Scientists have defined nine planetary boundaries (such as climate change, loss of biological diversity, land system change) of which some have gone far beyond capacity as far as overuse of natural resources is concerned. This leads to severe problems, which are still unknown in human history and are evolving from ever more complex interactions between mankind and technology.

To illustrate this, we shall take the Earth Overshoot Day (EOD) as an example. This is the day on which we, as humanity, have consumed more resources each year and caused more environmental pollution than our planet can replace or “digest”. This day occurs earlier every year. Calculations started in 1987, when Earth Overshoot Day occurred on 19 December. Already 12 days too soon. This small gap could still have been corrected at this time. With a little effort, it would probably have been feasible to shift Earth Overshoot Day towards an acceptable use of resources. However, the opposite happened. EOD has occurred earlier and earlier each year since. Last year, it occurred as early as 1 August. In Germany, EOD even occurred on 2 May.

What does this mean for us? If we do not wish to overshoot the planetary boundaries permanently, experts have indicated that each individual on earth may not consume more than 8 tonnes of material per year on average. For Germany, this means that we must reduce our consumption of resources from the current level of ca. 40 to 8 tonnes. In other words, we may only use a fifth of what we use at present. This would definitely entail a radical change in our way of life.

Models en route to a resource-light society

The crucial question is whether we work actively towards a successful transformation or whether transformation will only occur as a result of a catastrophe (“transformation by design” or “transformation by disaster”). In recent years, we at Z_punkt have carried out a project for the Federal Environment Agency in collaboration with the Wuppertal Institute and sociodimensions to analyse whether and how Germany can switch to becoming a resource-light society in the next 20 years. In the following sections, we briefly highlight the five models we have developed and explain how citizens reacted to them. Detailed versions and analyses can be found in the reports of the results.

Model 1: a cooperative regional focus

The first scenario is based on the ideals, which are characteristic of cooperatives - a focus on the greater good, cooperation and fairness. They have evolved into mainstays of business and society in this scenario. The region in which people live plays a vital role. Production and consumption are highly regionalised because transport and mobility have been made more expensive through increased government charges. Regional procurement, which massively reduces transport energy and the consumption of resources, is the most obvious anchor of resource-poor living. Production and the services sector are not dominated by large conglomerates but by small and medium-sized enterprises. These are mainly organised on a cooperative basis. A strong, voluntary focus on the greater good, which is supported by legal measures, leads to considerable changes in behaviour and encourages social innovation. Sharing is in! Consumers opt in many cases for “using instead of owning”.The development, which Generation Y once started, has gone mainstream in society. A strong culture of bottom-up opinion-forming and decision-making contributes to significant commitment by individuals to the concept of resource-poor living. It’s not surprising as decisions are made regionally, implemented by those involved locally and have an immediate impact on the local community.

Capacity for making society far more cohesive but doubts about its political feasibility 

It is an attractive future scenario – both for experts and for citizens. It appealed to 60 percent of those who participated in the qualitative analysis as the best or second-best scenario (on a scale of 1-5, 1 means: “I like this idea most”, 5 means: “I like this idea least.”). They are attracted to the model because it offers an alternative to globalisation and deregulation. The model also reflects current trends, looking at the present popularity of regional products, the approval for a sharing economy and the interest in a resource-efficient recycling economy. However, the aspect of regionality was not viewed positively by all those questioned. Younger, consumption-oriented participant in survey, in particular, criticised the idea of a cooperative regional focus as limited to consumption and restricted in its aspirations. The concept of a cooperative society is losing ground – with experts and participants in the online survey. 

Key aspects:

  • Greater good
  • Fairness
  • Regionality
  • Sharing

 

Model 2: business friendly greening – the citizens’ favourite

The second future discussed is, essentially, a continuation and stepping-up of the German government's current high-tech strategy. The shift in energy policy is being supplemented by radical reform programmes covering the use of raw materials, transport and food / agriculture. The reduction in the use of resources will be achieved by the introduction of modern technologies and the encouragement of competition while consumer behaviour will not change massively. Consumers prefer durable, high quality products that comply with stringent environmental criteria and therefore reduce the consumption of resources and the waste generated by consumer goods. Material symbols still play an important role in conferring status. The recycling economy is widespread because it reduces costs. Research and science are important, as they continuously develop and implement new ideas for producing in an environmentally-friendly manner that is energy-efficient and saves on materials. Coordination of the conservation of resources is managed through a combination of political regulation, incentives and market mechanisms in this redesigned environment.

Ideas are widely accepted and have the potential to be implemented easily albeit with concerns about cushioning the social impact

High-quality products? Yes, of course! Durable? Absolutely! Manufactured in a resource-efficient manner? You bet! The idea of an environmentally-friendly economy, which combines progress and economic growth with environmental awareness, sounds extremely attractive. This model is the most widely welcomed of all the scenarios that were discussed. Compared with the other scenarios, 72 percent of those questioned rate it as best or second best, which is an enormous approval rating. Regulation is important in the world of greening the economy. To encourage a sustainable economy, provisions, taxes and sanctions are used as steering tools – just like the promotion of environmentally-friendly technologies. Despite being widely accepted, experts and those questioned have serious doubts as to the feasibility of this model. Why does a government have an interest in introducing new forms of regulation widely today? How are its democratic leaders to enforce these in complex political systems? And how will we manage to implement the model transnationally when it seems almost impossible to enforce it as a nation going it alone? Critics view the model as lacking answers to questions of social justice. 

Key aspects:

  • Innovation
  • Green technologies
  • Recycling economy
  • Strong parliament

 

Model 3: prescribed moderation – a citizen’s resources budget for everyone

This future is based on the idea that people would welcome more guidance in their lifestyle decisions, especially at times when consumption and other decisions are becoming more complex. The government will therefore introduce an annual resources budget for every citizen. Transitional rules in a transition phase and comprehensive advice provided by government will help people get used to living within the prescribed budget. As a result, products will be used jointly and recycled, and networks will be developed as places for shared learning. Consumers will also become creative in stretching their personal budgets – through exchange, sharing and recycling. Business will adapt by concentrating on products that allow people to live within their budget, which will encourage competition and innovation. Industrial companies and service providers are starting to compete in developing innovations aimed at keeping their consumption of resources as low as possible. Citizens are grateful for their lives being made easier by the amount of advice provided. Accordingly, they have considerable trust in the government and are only involved in policy-making to a minor extent.

The emergency scenario if nothing else works. But can it be implemented rapidly?

This model is the subject of controversial discussions among experts and came last in the online survey. Only 10 percent of the citizens questioned find it attractive (rated 1 or 2 in the online survey). The assumption that the impact of the citizens resource budget will be speedy and effective supports the model. However, there are many reasons that do not: the restriction of consumer freedom, bureaucratic difficulties in implementing it, the need for monitoring. For many people, “prescribed moderation” seems more like an emergency scenario than a model of choice. Nevertheless, some react positively to the fundamental concept of making citizens’ consumption of resources transparent.

Key aspects:

  • Citizens resource budget
  • Strong political leadership
  • Intense competition

 

Model 4: voluntary frugality

In contrast to this, in this scenario, resource-poor living is the result of voluntary simplification and restriction. People consume less, prefer less complex products and concentrate on their local surroundings. Government reacts to increasing pressure from NGOs to simplify income and taxes by introducing a basic income that is financed by receipts from higher taxes on the use of resources. In contrast, taxes on people’s work are reduced. Consequently, the economy encourages simple, very durable products and adjusts people’s salaries. The latter is necessitated by the introduction of a basic income, which allows people to switch jobs more frequently, to work part-time and to demand higher salaries for less attractive jobs. People will have more time to use as they wish and will become more heavily involved socially in caring for the elderly or in sports clubs. Citizens and NGOs will participate actively in political decision-making and will be increasingly recognised as major players, which will lead to a considerable degree of citizen participation.

A basic income without any conditions is a polarising concept with positive and negative attributes 

It is not surprising that the concept of a basic income without any conditions and the consequences resulting therefrom are very polarising. The model of voluntary frugality has equal numbers of supporters and critics. A third of those questioned (34%) harbour sympathies for the model (rated 1 or 2). Supporters view the idea of a basic income and the reduction in the pressure to perform positively. Critics reject it because the model runs counter to the principles of personal responsibility or the idea of a meritocracy in society. Not everybody is convinced by the idea of voluntary renunciation either. Nevertheless, the idea of breaking completely with society’s existing social and economic principles holds a certain fascination.

Key aspects:

  • Basic income without any conditions
  • High taxes on the consumption of resources
  • Low taxes on personal work
  • High citizen commitment to meaningful activities

 

Model 5: globalism without “stuff” 

This scenario follows a radical post-modern agenda of doing away with “stuff”. The most prominent issue here is the dismantling of the industrial base and a radical focus on the services sector including a significant upgrading of the centre of knowledge. At the same time, the potential of artificial intelligence, automation and digitisation is exploited to achieve a resource-light, efficient manufacturing society. Stringent standards governing resource-efficiency will apply to the increasing quantity of imports. This will encourage global innovation and competition to reduce the use of resources. The driving values of this globally focused society - solidarity, fairness and responsibility - will be reflected in both the economy and also in policy-making. Individuals prefer self-determined and sensible career options; companies react to this by significantly increasing employees’ flexibility and independence. Paternalistic patterns are completely abandoned in politics and citizens’ involvement will play a more significant role than ever before.

A resource-light society must take account of aspects of social justice 

This model is not popular overall. Only 23 percent of those questioned rated it first or second in comparison with other models. Experts and those questioned rated the fact that technologies such as artificial intelligence will play a key role for the future positively. The citizens questioned expressed particular scepticism about the dramatic shift from an industrial to a services nation, which purchases its goods through imports from abroad even if they have been manufactured in an environmentally-friendly manner. They are afraid this will lead to an increase in precarious employment. Feedback on this model shows that a resource-light society is only feasible for experts and citizens if it also takes account of aspects of social justice and social cohesion.

Key aspects:

  • Strong service economy
  • Little industry in Germany
  • Imports of resource-saving products 
  • Active citizen participation in political policy formation 

 

Conclusion: think long-term – be prepared – act proactively

There are different ways for companies to get by using fewer resources and despite this to ensure adequate prosperity. The challenges are enormous but can be mastered through concerted action. New market mechanisms, technological solutions, political programmes and social change must go hand in hand. Citizens and managers must opt for a path and take suitable measures to achieve an ambitious transformation of society. As many “agents of change” already show, social innovations in use, cooperative behaviour or the “practice of omission” are some examples that make a positive contribution to the change needed.

Ultimately, the proactive ingenuity of each player will be of critical significance in preventing transformation by disaster and achieving transformation by design.

* Methodology: Z_punkt developed the models with the Wuppertal Institute using scenario technology. The scenarios describe possible futures in which a resource-light society becomes a reality. In the first step, 14 factors influencing a resource-light society were identified. The key factors were then investigated for development options (step 2) and discussed with experts (step 3). We prepared the five models based on the scenarios in step 4. Subsequently, sociodimensions carried out the citizens’ survey. 

 

Population preferences: These ideas for the future are best

Model Business friendly greening A cooperative regional focus Voluntary frugality Globalism without "stuff" Prescribed moderation
Share of rating
1-2
72% 60% 34% 23% 10%

Question: Which of these ideas for the future do you like best? And which do you like least? (Scale 1 to 5)

Menu
Leitbilder, Erfolgsbedingungen und Handlungsempfehlungen für eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft

Leitbilder, Erfolgsbedingungen und Handlungsempfehlungen für eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft

Wie wollen wir in Zukunft leben? Genossenschaftlich und regional? Wirtschaftsfreundlich und ökologisch? Gemäßigt? Genügsam? Oder gleich dematerialisiert? Wenn wir über eine wünschenswerte Zukunft nachdenken, sollten wir keine Schranken im Kopf haben. Fakt ist: Wenn unsere Gesellschaft in Zukunft seine Ressourcen schonen will und gleichzeitig eine hohe Lebensqualität erhalten möchte, muss sich etwas ändern.

Von Holger Glockner

Wir von Z_punkt haben im Rahmen eines Gemeinschaftsforschungsprojekts für das Umweltbundesamt einen spannenden Möglichkeitsraum geschaffen, wie eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft aussehen könnte *. Dabei haben wir mit Hilfe der Szenariotechnik fünf Leitbilder entwickelt. Sie sind bewusst ganz unterschiedlich, aber die zentrale Ausgangsfrage ist gleich: wie schaffen wir eine Gesellschaft, die ressourcensparsam lebt, ohne dabei die Lebensqualität zu vernachlässigen? Die Leitbilder stellen dabei kein Idealszenario dar, sondern machen sich auf eine Entdeckungsreise, welche gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen möglich wären. Die von uns entwickelten Szenarien haben wir während des Projekts gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern mit Experten diskutiert und wurden parallel durch sociodimensions genutzt, um Bürger zu fragen, welche der Leitbilder sie sich für ihre und unsere Zukunft vorstellen könnten[1]. Die Diskussion über eine nachhaltige Zukunft ist für Fach-Experten ein Dauerthema, aber derzeit wächst auf vielen Ebenen die öffentliche Diskussion, daher sind die Szenarien als Anstoß für die Debatte über die Zukunft aktueller denn je.

Die vorherrschende Logik des Wirtschaftens basiert gegenwärtig immer noch auf einem beträchtlichen und steigenden Energie- und Materialverbrauch. Mit der anhaltenden Fokussierung auf dieses Wachstumsmodell besteht die Gefahr einer dauerhaften Zerstörung unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Obwohl sich aus dieser Art des Lebens und Wirtschaftens ein breites Spektrum positiver Segnungen entwickelt hat - wie eine steigende Lebenserwartung, bessere Bildung und Gesundheitsfürsorge oder höhere Sicherheit und Wohlfahrt - ist ein „Weiter so wie bisher“ keine nachhaltige Option für die Zukunft.

Globale Herausforderungen

Bevor wir über mögliche Hebel für eine Veränderung der Ressourcennutzung in Zukunft sprechen, schauen wir uns an, welchen globalen Herausforderungen sich die Menschheit in den nächsten Jahrzehnten stellen muss. Die dringendsten Herausforderungen werden in den 17 Zielen der Vereinten Nationen für nachhaltige Entwicklung behandelt und zusammengefasst. Wir sehen große Fortschritte, insbesondere in wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Hinsicht. Es gibt jedoch keinen Grund zur Zufriedenheit. Unser Klima und unsere Umwelt befinden sich in besorgniserregendem Zustand, ohne dass eine Verbesserung in Sicht ist. Wissenschaftler haben neun planetarische Grenzen definiert (z. B. Klimawandel, Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt, Änderung des Landsystems), von denen einige hinsichtlich der Übernutzung natürlicher Ressourcen weit über die Belastbarkeit vorangeschritten sind. Dies führt zu schwerwiegenden Problemen, die in der Menschheitsgeschichte noch unbekannt sind und sich aus immer komplexeren menschlich-technischen Interaktionen entwickeln.

Um dies zu veranschaulichen, nehmen wir als Beispiel den Earth-Overhoot-Day (EOD). Dies ist der Tag, an dem wir als Menschheit jedes Jahr mehr Ressourcen verbraucht haben und mehr Umweltverschmutzung verursacht haben, als unser Planet erneuern oder „verdauen“ kann. Alle Jahre tritt dieser Tag früher auf. Die Berechnungen begannen 1987, als der Tag der Überschreitung auf den 19. Dezember datiert wurde. Bereits 12 Tage zu früh. Diese kleine Lücke hätte zu dieser Zeit noch korrigiert werden können. Mit ein paar Anstrengungen wäre es vermutlich machbar gewesen, den Tag der „Erdüberschreitung“ erneut in Richtung einer verträglichen Ressourcennutzung zu verschieben. Aber das Gegenteil ist passiert. Der EOD fand vielmehr jedes Jahr in Folge früher und früher statt. Letztes Jahr war er bereits am 1. August. In Deutschland war der Tag der Überschreitung sogar am 2. Mai.

Was bedeutet das für uns? Wenn wir die Grenzen des Planeten nicht dauerhaft überfordern wollen, darf jedes Individuum auf der Erde im Durchschnitt laut Experten nicht mehr als 8 t Material pro Jahr verbrauchen. Für Deutschland bedeutet dies, den Ressourcenverbrauch von aktuell ca. 40 auf 8 Tonnen zu senken. D.h. wir dürfen nur ein Fünftel von dem verwenden, was wir heute verwenden. Dies würde definitiv eine radikale Veränderung unserer Lebensweise mit sich bringen.

Leitbilder auf dem Weg in eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft

Die entscheidende Frage ist, ob wir aktiv auf eine gelingende Transformation hinarbeiten oder ob eine Transformation erst durch eine Katastrophe erfolgt („Transformation by Design“ oder „Transformation by Disaster“). In den letzten Jahren haben wir bei Z_punkt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Wuppertal Institut und sociodimensions ein Projekt für das Umweltbundesamt durchgeführt, um zu analysieren, ob und wie in den nächsten 20 Jahren in Deutschland ein Umstieg in eine ressourcenschonende Gesellschaft möglich ist. Im Folgenden werfen wir kurze Schlaglichter auf die fünf erarbeiteten Leitbilder und stellen dar, wie diese von den Bürgern wahrgenommen wurden. Ausführliche Versionen und Analysen können den Ergebnisberichten entnommen werden.

Leitbild 1: Genossenschaftliche Regionalität

Das erste Szenario basiert auf den Idealen, die in Genossenschaften geprägt werden - Orientierung am Gemeinwohl, Kooperation und Fairness. Sie haben sich in diesem Szenario zu tragenden Säulen von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft entwickelt. Der Region, in der die Menschen leben, kommt eine entscheidende Rolle zu. Produktion und Konsum sind stark regionalisiert. Denn Transport und Mobilität sind durch gestiegene Staatsabgaben teuer geworden. Der nahe liegendste Anker des ressourcenarmen Lebens ist die regionale Beschaffung, die die Transportenergie und den Ressourcenverbrauch massiv reduziert. Nicht Großkonzerne dominieren die Produktion und den Dienstleistungssektor, sondern kleine und mittelständische Betriebe. Sie sind vor allem genossenschaftlich organisiert. Die starke, freiwillige Orientierung am Gemeinwohl - die durch gesetzliche Maßnahmen unterstützt wird - führt zu erheblichen Verhaltensänderungen und fördert soziale Innovationen. Sharing ist in! Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten setzen vielfach auf „Nutzen statt Besitzen“. Die Entwicklung, die die Generation Y einst ins Leben rief, ist im gesellschaftlichen Mainstream angekommen. Eine starke Kultur der Bottom-up-Meinungsbildung und -Entscheidungsfindung trägt zu einem hohen Engagement des Einzelnen für die Idee eines ressourcenarmen Lebens bei. Kein Wunder: denn Entscheidungen werden regional getroffen, von den lokal Beteiligten umgesetzt und haben unmittelbar Auswirkungen auf die Gemeinschaft vor Ort.

Starke gesellschaftliche Integrationsfähigkeit mit Zweifel an der politischen Umsetzbarkeit

Das Zukunftsszenario ist attraktiv – sowohl für Experten als auch für Bürger. 60 Prozent der Befragten, die sich an der qualitativen Analyse beteiligt haben, gefiel es am besten oder zweitbesten (auf einer Skala von 1-5, 1 bedeutet: „Diese Idee gefällt mir am besten“ 5 bedeutet: „Diese Idee gefällt mir am wenigsten“.) Sie sind vom Leitbild angezogen, da es eine Alternative zu Globalisierung und Deregulierung bietet. Das Leitbild liegt auch im Trend der heutigen Zeit, wenn man sich die derzeitige Popularität regionaler Produkte, den Zuspruch zur Sharing Economy oder das Interesse an ressourcensparender Kreislaufwirtschaft anschaut. Allerdings wird der Aspekt der Regionalität nicht von allen Befragten positiv wahrgenommen. Vor allem jüngere, konsumorientierte Teilnehmer der Befragung kritisieren die Welt der genossenschaftlichen Regionalität als eingeschränkt im Konsum und geistig eng. Die Idee der Genossenschaft gerät – bei Experten und Teilnehmer der Online-Befragung – aus dem Fokus. 

Zentrale Aspekte

  • Gemeinwohl
  • Fairness
  • Regionalität
  • Sharing

Leitbild 2: Wirtschaftsfreundliche Ökologisierung – der Favorit der Bürger

Die zweite diskutierte Zukunft ist im Wesentlichen eine Fortsetzung und Intensivierung der gegenwärtigen Hightech-Strategie der Bundesregierung. Die Energiewende wird durch ähnliche radikale Reformprogramme in Bezug auf Rohstoffnutzung, Transport und Lebensmittel / Landwirtschaft ergänzt. Die Verringerung der Ressourcennutzung wird durch die Einführung fortschrittlicher Technologien und die Förderung des Wettbewerbs erreicht, während sich das Verbraucherverhalten nicht massiv verändert. Die Verbraucher bevorzugen langlebige, qualitativ hochwertige Produkte, die strengen Umweltkriterien entsprechen und somit den Ressourcenverbrauch und den Abfall von Konsumgütern verringern. Bei der Verleihung von Status spielen materielle Symbole immer noch eine wichtige Rolle. Die Kreislaufwirtschaft ist weit verbreitet, da sie Kosten spart. Forschung und Wissenschaft sind wichtig: Sie entwickeln und implementieren fortlaufend neue Ideen, um umweltfreundlich, energie- und materialsparend zu produzieren. Die Koordination der Ressourceneinsparung wird durch ein Zusammenspiel von politischer Regulierung sowie Anreizsetzung und Marktmechanismen in diesem neu gestalteten Umfeld gesteuert.

Breite Akzeptanz und hohes Umsetzungspotenzial der Ideen mit Bedenken zur sozialen Abfederung

Hochwertige Produkte? Ja, klar! Langlebig? Selbstverständlich! Ressourcenarm hergestellt? Und ob! Die Idee einer umweltfreundlichen Wirtschaft, die Fortschritt und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung mit Umweltbewusstsein verbindet, kling äußerst attraktiv. Dieses Leitbild findet im Umfeld aller diskutierter Szenarien die höchste Akzeptanz. 72 Prozent der Befragten bewerten es im Vergleich mit den anderen Szenarien als am besten oder zweitbesten, was eine enorme Zustimmung ist. In der Welt der wirtschaftlichen Ökologisierung ist Regulierung wichtig. Um eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft zu fördern, werden Vorschriften, Steuern und Sanktionen als Lenkungsinstrumente eingesetzt – genauso wie die Förderung umweltfreundlicher Technologien. Trotz seiner hohen Akzeptanz bezweifeln Experten und Befragte gleichermaßen die Umsetzbarkeit dieses Leitbilds stark. Warum hat ein Staat heute ein Interesse daran, auf breiter Front neue Formen der Regulierung einzuführen? Wie sollen seine demokratischen Führer diese in komplexen, politischen Systemen durchsetzen? Und wie schafft man es, das Leitbild in der heutigen Welt länderübergreifend umzusetzen, da es kaum im nationalen Alleingang durchsetzbar scheint? Kritiker vermissen beim Leitbild Antworten auf Fragen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit. 

Zentrale Aspekte

  • Innovation
  • Grüne Technologien
  • Kreislaufwirtschaft
  • Starkes Parlament

Leitbild 3: Verordnete Mäßigung – BürgerRessourcenBudget für Alle

Diese Zukunft basiert auf der Idee, dass Menschen mehr Orientierung in ihren Lebensstilentscheidungen begrüßen würden, insbesondere in Zeiten, in denen Konsum- und andere Entscheidungen komplexer werden. Daher führt die Regierung für jeden Bürger ein jährliches Ressourcenbudget ein. Übergangsregelungen in einer Übergangsphase und eine umfassende Beratung durch staatliche Stellen helfen den Menschen, sich daran zu gewöhnen, innerhalb ihres vorgegebenen Budgets zu leben. Dadurch können Produkte gemeinsam genutzt und wiederverwendet und Netzwerke als Orte gemeinschaftlichen Lernens entwickelt werden. Zudem werden Konsumenten kreativ, ihr persönliches Budget zu strecken – durch Tausch, Teilung oder Wiederverwertung. Die Wirtschaft passt sich an, indem sie sich auf Produkte konzentriert, die es den Menschen ermöglichen, innerhalb ihrer Haushaltsmittel zu leben, was Wettbewerb und Innovation fördert. Bei Industrieunternehmen und Dienstleistern ist ein intensiver Innovationswettbewerb um einen möglichst niedrigen Ressourcenverbrauch entstanden. Die Bürger sind dankbar für die Entlastung, die mit dem hohen Maß an Beratung einhergeht. Dementsprechend haben sie großes Vertrauen in die Regierung und sind nur wenig in die Politikgestaltung involviert.

Das Notfallszenario, wenn nichts mehr geht. Aber schnell umsetzbar?

Dieses Leitbild ist von den Experten kontrovers diskutiert und belegt bei der Online-Umfrage den letzten Platz. Nur 10 Prozent der befragten Bürger finden es attraktiv (mit Rang 1 oder 2 bei der Online-Befragung). Für das Leitbild spricht die vermutete schnelle und effektive Wirkung des BürgerRessourcenBudgets. Dagegen zahlreiche andere Gründe: Die Einschränkung der Konsumentenfreiheit, bürokratische Schwierigkeiten bei der Umsetzung, die Notwendigkeit der Überwachung. Vielen erscheint die „Verordnete Mäßigung“ eher ein Notfallszenario als ein Wunschleitbild. Dennoch nehmen einige den grundlegenden Gedanken positiv auf, den Ressourcenverbrauch der Bürger transparent zu machen.

Zentrale Aspekte

  • BürgerRessourcenBudget
  • Starke politische Führung
  • Intensiver Wettbewerb

Leitbild 4: Freiwillige Genügsamkeit

Im Gegensatz dazu resultiert das ressourcenarme Leben in diesem Szenario aus einer freiwilligen Vereinfachung und Beschränkung. Die Menschen konsumieren weniger, bevorzugen weniger komplexe Produkte und konzentrieren sich auf ihre lokale Umgebung. Die Regierung reagiert auf den zunehmenden Druck der NGOs, Einkommen und Steuern zu vereinfachen, indem sie ein Grundeinkommen einführt, das durch Erträge aus höheren Steuern auf die Ressourcennutzung finanziert wird. Menschliche Arbeitsleistung hingegen wird weniger besteuert. In der Folge fördert die Wirtschaft einfache Produkte mit hoher Haltbarkeit und führt Gehaltsanpassungen durch. Letztere werden durch die Einführung eines Grundeinkommens notwendig, das es den Menschen ermöglicht, häufiger den Job zu wechseln, Teilzeit zu arbeiten und höhere Gehälter für weniger attraktive Arbeitsplätze zu verlangen. Menschen haben mehr Zeit für die individuelle Lebensgestaltung und engagieren sich stärker sozial bei der Altenpflege oder im Sportverein.  Bürger und NGO’s nehmen aktiv an der politischen Entscheidungsfindung teil und werden zunehmend als wichtige Akteure anerkannt, was zu einem hohen Maß an Bürgerbeteiligung führt.

Das bedingungslose Grundeinkommen polarisiert mit positiven und negativen Zuschreibungen

Nicht verwunderlich ist, dass die Idee des bedingungslosen Grundeinkommens mit den daraus folgenden Konsequenzen stark polarisiert. Das Leitbild der freiwilligen Genügsamkeit hat Befürworter und Kritiker gleichermaßen. Ein Drittel der Befragten (34 %) hegt Sympathien für das Leitbild (Rang 1 oder 2). Die Fürsprecher bewerten die Idee der Grundsicherung und die Reduktion von Leistungsdruck als positiv. Kritiker lehnen es ab, da das Leitbild den Grundsätzen der persönlichen Eigenverantwortung oder dem Leistungsgedanken in der Gesellschaft widerspricht. Auch der freiwillige Verzicht überzeugt nicht alle. Dennoch birgt die Idee, mit den bisherigen sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Grundsätzen der Gesellschaft konsequent zu brechen, eine Faszination.

Zentrale Aspekte

  • Bedingungsloses Grundeinkommen
  • Hohe Steuern auf Ressourcenverbrauch
  • Niedrige Steuern auf persönliche Arbeitsleistung
  • Hohes Bürgerengagement für sinnstiftende Tätigkeiten

Leitbild 5: Dematerialisierter Globalismus

Dieses Szenario folgt einer radikalen postmodernen Agenda der Entmaterialisierung. Am prominentesten ist dabei der Abbau der industriellen Basis und ein radikaler Fokus auf den Dienstleistungssektor mit einer starken Aufwertung des Wissensstandorts. Gleichzeitig werden die Potenziale von künstlicher Intelligenz, Automation und Digitalisierung für eine ressourcenschonende, effizient produzierende Gesellschaft ausgeschöpft. Es gelten strenge Ressourceneffizienzstandards für die wachsende Importmenge. Dies fördert die globale Innovation und den Wettbewerb um die Verringerung der Ressourcennutzung. Die treibenden Werte dieser global ausgerichteten Gesellschaft - Solidarität, Fairness und Eigenverantwortung - spiegeln sich sowohl in der Wirtschaft als auch in der Politikgestaltung wider. Individuen bevorzugen selbstbestimmte und sinnvolle Karrieremöglichkeiten; Unternehmen reagieren darauf, indem sie die Flexibilität und Unabhängigkeit der Mitarbeiter deutlich erhöhen. In der Politik werden paternalistische Muster völlig aufgegeben, und das Engagement der Bürger spielt eine wichtigere Rolle als je zuvor.

Eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft muss Aspekte der sozialen Gerechtigkeit berücksichtigen 

Dieses Leitbild findet insgesamt eher geringe Akzeptanz. Nur 23 Prozent der Befragten platzieren es auf den ersten oder zweiten Rang im Vergleich mit den anderen Leitbildern. Positiv bewerten Experten und Befragte, dass Technologien wie künstliche Intelligenz eine wichtige Rolle für die Zukunft spielen. Besonders skeptisch bewerten die befragten Bürger den deutlichen Schritt von der Industrie- zur Dienstleistungsnation, die ihre Güter durch Importe aus dem Ausland bezieht, auch wenn diese umweltschonend hergestellt sidn. Sie befürchten dadurch eine Ausweitung prekärer Beschäftigung. Das Feedback auf dieses Leitbild zeigt, dass eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft für Experten und Bürger nur umsetzbar ist, wenn sie auch Aspekte der sozialen Gerechtigkeit und des sozialen Zusammenhalts berücksichtigt.

Zentrale Aspekte

  • Starke Dienstleistungsgesellschaft
  • Wenig Industrie in Deutschland
  • Importe ressourcensparsamer Produkte
  • Aktive Bürgerbeteiligung an politischer Willensbildung

 

Fazit: Langfristig denken – Vorbereitet sein – Vorausschauend handeln

Es gibt verschiedene Wege für Gesellschaften, mit einem geringeren Ressourceneinsatz auszukommen und trotzdem für einen auskömmlichen Wohlstand zu sorgen. Die Herausforderungen sind enorm, sind aber durch konzertierte Aktionen zu bewältigen. Neue Marktmechanismen, technologische Lösungen, politische Programme und ein gesellschaftlicher Wandel müssen Hand in Hand gehen. Bürger und Führungskräfte müssen sich für einen Weg entscheiden und geeignete Maßnahmen ergreifen, um die ehrgeizige Transformation der Gesellschaft zu erreichen. Wie viele „Agenten des Wandels“  bereits heute zeigen, sind soziale Innovationen in der Nutzung, kooperatives Verhalten oder die „Einübung des Weglassens“ einige Beispiele, die positiv zu der notwendigen Veränderung beitragen.

Letztendlich wird der vorausschauende Scharfsinn eines jeden Akteurs von entscheidender Bedeutung sein, um die Transformation durch Katastrophen zu verhindern und eine Transformation durch aktive Gestaltung zu erreichen.

Präferenzen der Bevölkerung: Diese Zukunftsideen gefallen am besten

Leitbild Wirtschaftsfreundliche Ökologisierung Genossenschaftliche Regionalität Freiwillige Genügsamkeit Dematerialisierter Globalismus Verordnete Mäßigung
Anteil Rang 1-2 72% 60% 34% 23% 10%

Frage: Welche dieser Zukunftsideen gefällt Ihnen persönlich am besten? Und welche gefällt Ihnen am wenigsten? (Skala 1 bis 5)

1)  Methodik: Z_punkt hat die Leitbilder mit Hilfe der Szenario-Technik gemeinsam mit dem Wuppertal Institut entwickelt. Die Szenarien beschreiben mögliche Zukünfte, in denen eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft verwirklicht ist. Im ersten Schritt wurden 14 Einflussfaktoren identifiziert, die eine ressourcenleichte Gesellschaft beeinflussen. Dann wurden die Schlüsselfaktoren auf Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten untersucht (Schritt 2) und mit Experten und Expertinnen diskutiert (Schritt 3). In Schritt 4 erstellten wir die fünf Leitbilder auf Basis der Szenarien. Anschließend führte sociodimensions die Bürger-Befragungen durch.