Menu
Corporate Foresight als Werkzeug für ein antizipatives Kompetenzmanagement

Corporate Foresight as a Tool for Anticipative Competency Management

What competencies will we need in our company in ten, fifteen or twenty years’ time? And what steps can we take right now to establish these competencies in a targeted and far-sighted manner. In our new white paper, Holger Glockner and Cornelius Patscha explain what the tools of corporate foresight can contribute in terms of anticipative competence management.

By Holger Glockner and Cornelius Patscha

The newest results of the annual KPMG CEO Outlook are unequivocal:

  • 41% of the CEOs surveyed anticipate a “critical transformation” of their respective companies in the next few years.
  • 77% of them predict that innovation will play an increasingly important role in successfully positioning their company in the market or maintaining their current position.
  • 65% anticipate that new competitors will attempt to take business off them.

With this in mind, the question arises as to which competencies businesses will need to have to be able to cope with the future transformative change that the majority are sensing and discussing, and for which they are already trying to develop strategic solutions. In traditional strategic management theory, (core) competencies are conceived of as essential corporate resources that, in the well-known words of Prahalad und Hamel, are “skills that enable a firm to deliver a fundamental customer benefit”. The skills in question include organisational competencies embedded both in the minds of staff members and in corporate processes. Other authors conceptualise core competencies as a source of competitive advantage or as value drivers embedded in products and services from a customer perspective. What all traditional approaches to conceptualising the topic of core competencies have in common is that they tend to focus on the identification, exploitation and expansion of existing competencies: strategy “guru” Henry Mintzberg refers, in this context, to recognisable patterns within a continuous flux of corporate actions. There has been less of a tendency to consider the transformation and recompilation of competencies within a climate of disruptive changes. However, corporate enterprises in many sectors currently operate in just such an environment, which makes the question of long-term, anticipative competency management more pressing than ever.

The Future of Work, the Future of the Company

It is useful in this context to consider the subject alongside discussions on the future of labour. The digital transformation plays a major role in this field as a driver of automation. It is true that existing studies do not present a consistent picture of how many jobs, even those involving demanding tasks, may become redundant in the wake of increasing automation But, what is clear is that members of the labour force will face significantly different demands in terms of their skills profiles going forward. One important reason for this is that employers, especially corporate enterprises, will require different competencies profiles from the job market. This not only presents a challenge to the workforce but also to companies who need to be able to estimate their future Competency Requirements to position themselves appropriately in the market and in the employment market.

So, what is driving the transformative changes already being perceived and discussed within numerous companies, and reflected in strategic decision-making? Five factor clusters can be identified, which we present in overview in the following sections. We then discuss the contribution that corporate foresight might – and in our view ought to – make in this field.

The Primacy of Innovation

In saturated markets and under the penumbra of increasing global competitive pressures, businesses are continuously being forced to develop novel approaches to value creation that transcend their traditional core business. This can, or at least ought to, transform a business into an „innovation factory“. It is not for nothing that the turnover companies are achieving with newly launched products and services is becoming increasingly more significant. In this context, the objective of a systematic approach to competency management is to corral and consolidate those competencies required to support, and that are tightly meshed with, the company’s strategic innovation orientation. This can be done through acquisitions, spin-offs that can accelerate the development of specific competencies, and through targeted staff development.

Technological Upheavals

The digital transformation has developed to become a strategic topic, which many companies rightly consider to be a central driver of change. Technological developments, which together will usher in dramatic changes, are discussed under buzz words such as “Industry 4.0”, “Collaborative Robotics”, “Big Data”, “Artificial Intelligence” and “Robotic Process Automation”. These are augmented by sector-specific upheavals, such as the transition to driverless cars in the automotive industry in the mid to long term, initial successes in the field of decentralised production engineering at which Adidas’ so-called Speedfactory Project hints, and the transition to real-time directed load management in the energy sector. Developments such as these will have far-reaching consequences in relation to both the technical and organisational knowledge bases that companies will need to collate and develop to remain competitive.

Integrated Value Creation

Innovation is not limited to the production and service spheres: it also applies to value chains and business models. Relevant examples of this include the provision of services via online platforms but also performance-oriented business models or the integration of different product ranges in complex product-service systems. Yet, innovation may also involve the reinvention of the innovation process itself, for example by opening it up to external information flows or by pursuing collaborative agreements with companies in other sectors with a view to realising cross-sector innovations based on complementary skills and know-how of the companies involved. In general, interface and convergence markets are becoming more important, because of which collaborative processes that transcend the boundaries of individual firms are also becoming more significant.

Agile Organisation

In addition to product and process innovation, the further development of organisational structures is becoming a central theme for many companies. This may involve the establishment of agile processes and/or teams or the foundation of in-house start-up incubators. The successful implementation of agile forms of organisation requires a new culture of collaboration that will require novel competencies on the part of managers and staff including both soft skills and cross-disciplinary skill profiles as exemplified by so-called “T-shaped professionals” (which have a generalised knowledge of various fields (the horizontal at the top of the T) in addition to profound specialist know-how in some specific discipline (the vertical line of the T)). In this context, collaborative initiatives involving companies and their employees gain in significance in terms of collective competency development.

The Features of Competence Foresight

To sum up: Given the ongoing dynamic developments in the technology sectors, corporate enterprises are facing the challenge of having to establish themselves in new business segments with novel products and services and exploring potential innovative value creation models whilst simultaneously reorganising themselves to become more flexible and agile and taking a more consistent approach to consumer-driven innovation rather than simply reacting to “technology push”.

As a consequence, novel challenges are emerging at all levels in relation to the development of corporate competencies, to which many companies are already reacting in various ways. As neither companies nor company personnel can acquire new skills overnight, competency management requires a forward-looking approach geared towards the long-term.

Corporate Foresight can make a contribution here by placing corporate competency management on a long-term future-oriented footing, based on tried and trusted foresight methods. The objective is to achieve systematic insights into those skills likely to be required in future at the personnel, technical, process, organisational levels. The identification of future challenges for the company, in this context, is based on specific future scenarios, which combine plausible assumptions about upcoming developments that are of immediate relevance to the company.

How Competence Foresight Works

At the high level, the competence foresight approach can be described in the four steps described below.

  1. Competence Mapping: The first step involves drawing up a comprehensive overview of existing competencies within the company in question. In our experience, all companies have a reasonable understanding of their in-house competencies, but this usually needs to be fleshed out in more detail to be useful in the competence foresight process.
  2. Future Competency Requirements: In the second step, future competency requirements are derived from the corporate innovation strategy. The term “innovation strategy” is used in its widest possible meaning in this context, and encompasses new growth areas that will influence the company’s long-term innovation orientation, but also those aspects of innovation referred to above such as organisational innovation or even modifications to the innovation process itself.
  3. Gap Analysis: The gap analysis positions the results from the first two steps in relation to one another during which one can obtain insights into mid to long-term competency deficits as well as identifying which existing competencies will need to be combined or expanded to counteract any shortfalls.
  4. Competence Strategy: In the fourth step, the company uses established foresight tools (strategic option space, vision development, roadmapping) to develop a long-term competence strategy. This takes place at the intersection between innovation management and personnel and organisational development. Therefore, human resources personnel should be involved in this process step at the latest to ensure that the results of the exercise can be integrated within existing corporate processes.

The Benefits of Competence Foresight

The benefits of a competence foresight approach include a closer integration between organisational and personnel development initiatives and corporate insights from existing strategic foresight work. Precisely which competencies will need to be developed within a given corporate enterprise, and how, will depend entirely upon the fields in which the company plans to become or remain active going forward, as well as its planned organisational development and the process innovations that must be initiated. Questions such as these are often tackled during the kind of “big picture” foresight initiatives now common in the daily practice of many corporate entities. In our experience, however, the exploitation of insights gained through these processes as corporate resources for organisational and personnel planning is still too infrequent, and this shortfall is precisely what the competence foresight process is designed to address.

Menu
Corporate Foresight als Werkzeug für ein antizipatives Kompetenzmanagement

Corporate Foresight als Werkzeug für ein antizipatives Kompetenzmanagement

Über welche Kompetenzen muss unser Unternehmen in zehn, fünfzehn oder zwanzig Jahren verfügen? Und welche Schritte können wir schon heute gehen, um diese Kompetenzen zielstrebig und weitsichtig aufzubauen? In unserem neuen Whitepaper erklären Holger Glockner und Cornelius Patscha, was die Werkzeuge von Corporate Foresight zu einem antizipativen Kompetenzmanagement beitragen können.

Von Holger Glockner und Cornelius Patscha

Die neuesten Ergebnisse des jährlichen KPMG CEO Outlooks sprechen eine eindeutige Sprache:

  • 41% der befragten CEOs rechnen in den nächsten Jahren mit einer „kritischen Transformation“ ihres Unternehmens.
  • 77% sehen zukünftig eine stärkere Rolle für Innovation, um ihr Unternehmen erfolgreich am Markt zu positionieren bzw. ihre Position zu behaupten.
  • 65% rechnen damit, dass neue Wettbewerber versuchen werden, ihnen das Geschäft streitig zu machen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt sich die Frage nach den Kompetenzen, die Unternehmen benötigen, um den transformativen Wandel zu bewältigen, den sie in der Mehrzahl bereits erahnen, diskutieren und strategisch in den Griff zu bekommen versuchen. Die klassischen Ansätze des strategischen Managements thematisieren (Kern)­kompetenzen als essenzielle Ressourcen des Unternehmens, als „skills that enable a firm to deliver a fundamental customer benefit“, in der berühmten Formulierung von Prahalad und Hamel. Gemeint sind mit diesen „Skills“ sowohl technische als auch organisatorische Kompetenzen, die in den Köpfen der Mitarbeiter, aber auch in Prozessen und Verfahren verankert sind. Andere Autoren thematisieren Kompetenzen als Quelle von Wettbewerbsvorteilen oder als in Produkte und Services eingebettete Werttreiber aus Kundensicht. Gemeinsam ist den klassischen Zugängen zum Kompetenzbegriff, dass sie eher nach dem Erkennen, Nutzen und Ausbauen von vorhandenen Kompetenzen fragen – der Strategie-Guru Henry Mintzberg spricht in diesem Zusammenhang von Mustern, die in einem kontinuierlichen Strom unternehmerischen Handelns erkennbar werden – als nach dem Umbau und Neuaufbau von Kompetenzen in einem Klima disruptiver Veränderungen. In einem solchen Umfeld bewegen sich jedoch heute Unternehmen aus einer Vielzahl von Branchen, so dass die Frage nach einem langfristorientierten, antizipativen Kompetenzmanagement sich mit neuer Schärfe stellt.

Zukunft der Arbeit, Zukunft des Unternehmens

Hilfreich ist es hier, einen Zusammenhang zur Debatte um die Zukunft der Arbeit herzustellen. Auf diesem Feld spielt die digitale Transformation als Automatisierungshebel eine zentrale Rolle. Zwar ergibt sich aus den bisher vorliegenden Studien kein einheitliches Bild, wie viele Jobs im Gefolge einer zunehmenden Automatisierung auch anspruchsvoller Tätigkeiten redundant werden könnten. Klar ist jedoch, dass sich die Kompetenzanforderungen an Erwerbstätige zukünftig deutlich verändern werden – nicht zuletzt deshalb weil Arbeitgeber, insbesondere Unternehmen, veränderte Kompetenzprofile am Arbeitsmarkt nachfragen werden. Dies stellt nicht nur Erwerbstätige vor Herausforderungen, sondern auch Unternehmen, die ihre zukünftigen Kompetenzbedarfe abschätzen müssen, um sich am Arbeitsmarkt, aber auch auf ihren Absatzmärkten entsprechend positionieren zu können.

Was sind nun die Treiber für den transformativen Wandel, der in vielen Unternehmen bereits wahrgenommen, diskutiert und in strategische Entscheidungen übersetzt wird? Fünf Faktorencluster lassen sich unterscheiden, die wir in den folgenden Abschnitten überblicksartig darstellen. Im Anschluss thematisieren wir, welchen Beitrag Corporate Foresight in diesem Feld leisten kann – und aus unserer Sicht sollte.

Primat der Innovation

In saturierten Märkten und unter den Vorzeichen eines verschärften globalen Konkurrenzdrucks sind Unternehmen gezwungen, kontinuierlich neue Wertschöpfungsoptionen jenseits ihres klassischen Kerngeschäftes zu realisieren. Das Unternehmen wird dadurch, zumindest dem Anspruch nach, zu einer Innovationsfabrik – nicht umsonst nimmt der Umsatz, den Unternehmen mit neu eingeführten Produkten und Services machen, stetig an Bedeutung zu. Ein systematisches Kompetenzmanagement verfolgt hier das Ziel, entsprechend der strategischen Innovationsausrichtung des Unternehmens, und eng mit ihr verzahnt, Kompetenzen aufzubauen – durch Zukäufe, durch Ausgründungen, die die Kompetenzentwicklung beschleunigen können, und durch eine zielstrebige Personalentwicklung.

Technologische Umbrüche

Die digitale Transformation hat sich zu einem strategischen Thema entwickelt, das in vielen Unternehmen zu Recht als zentraler Veränderungstreiber eingeordnet wird. Unter Stichworten wie Industrie 4.0, kollaborative Robotik, Big Data, Künstliche Intelligenz und Robotic Process Automation werden Entwicklungen diskutiert, die in der Summe dramatische Veränderungen nach sich ziehen werden. Dazu kommen branchenspezifische Umbrüche – etwa der mittel- bis langfristig bevorstehende Übergang zum autonomen Fahren in der Automobilindustrie, die ersten Erfolge mit dezentralen Produktionstechniken, wie sie sich zum Beispiel im Speedfactory-Projekt von Adidas andeuten, oder der Wandel zu einem in Echtzeit gesteuerten Lastmanagement im Energiesektor. In der Zusammenschau resultieren aus diesen Entwicklungen weitreichende Konsequenzen in Bezug auf die technischen, aber auch organisatorischen Wissensbestände, die Unternehmen aufbauen bzw. ausbauen müssen, um am Markt zu bestehen.

Vernetzte Wertschöpfung

Innovation vollzieht sich nicht nur auf der Ebene von Produkten und Dienstleistungen, sondern auch auf der Ebene von Wertschöpfungsstrukturen und Geschäftsmodellen. Die Erbringung von Leistungen über Plattformen ist dafür ebenso ein Beispiel wie performance-orientierte Geschäftsmodelle oder die Integration von unterschiedlichen Angeboten in komplexe Produkt-Service-Systeme. Innovation kann auch bedeuten, den Innovationsprozess selbst zu erneuern, etwa ihn für zufließendes externes Wissen zu öffnen, oder Kooperationen mit Unternehmen aus anderen Branchen zu suchen, um gemeinsam Cross-Industrie-Innovationen zu realisieren, die auf komplementären Kompetenzen der beteiligten Unternehmen beruhen. Generell gewinnen Schnittstellen- und Konvergenzmärkte an Bedeutung, wodurch die Bedeutung kollaborativer Prozesse zunimmt, die über die Grenzen einzelner Unternehmen hinausweisen.

Agile Organisation

Neben der Produkt- und Prozessinnovation wird auch die Weiterentwicklung von Organisationsstrukturen in immer mehr Unternehmen zum Schlüsselthema – ob es um die Einrichtung agiler Prozesse bzw. Teams oder die Gründung eigener Startup-Inkubatoren geht. Um agile Organisationsformen zum Erfolg zu führen, ist eine neue Kultur des Zusammenarbeitens notwendig, die Mitarbeitern und Führungskräften neue Kompetenzen abverlangt – Soft Skills auf der einen Seite, auf der anderen Seite aber auch querschnittsartige Kompetenzprofile, wie sie für die sogenannten „T-shaped Professionals“ typisch sind: Diese verfügen auf der einen Seite über generalistisches Wissen in unterschiedlichen Bereichen (der kurze Querbalken des “T”), auf der anderern Seite über vertieftes Spezialwissen auf einem bestimmten Kompetenzfeld (der lange senkrechte Balken des “T”). In diesem Zusammenhang gewinnen auch Kooperationen zwischen Unternehmen und Mitarbeitern an Bedeutung, um gemeinsam die Kompetenzentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Was Competence Foresight auszeichnet

Zusammengefasst: Unternehmen stehen, vor dem Hintergrund einer dynamischen Entwicklung von Technologien, vor der Herausforderung, neue Geschäftsfelder mit Produkt- und Serviceinnovationen zu besetzen, die Potenziale innovativer Wertschöpfungsmodelle auszuloten, sich gleichzeitig auf organisationeller Ebene flexibler und beweglicher aufzustellen und noch konsequenter als bisher Innovation vom Kundenbedürfnis statt vom „Technology Push“ her zu denken. Auf allen Ebenen stellen sich neue Herausforderungen an die Kompetenzentwicklung im Unternehmen, auf die viele Unternehmen bereits in unterschiedlicher Weise reagieren. Da weder Unternehmen noch Belegschaften Kompetenzen über Nacht erwerben können, erfordert das Kompetenzmanagement ein vorausschauendes, langfristorientiertes Vorgehen.

Mit dem Competence-Foresight-Ansatz verbindet sich der Anspruch, das Kompetenzmanagement im Unternehmen unter Nutzung von erprobten Foresight-Methoden auf eine solche langfristorientierte Basis zu stellen. Ziel ist es, einen systemischen Blick auf zukünftig zu erwartende Kompetenzbedarfe zu gewinnen – auf personeller, auf technischer, auf prozessualer und auf organisationeller Ebene. Die Identifikation zukünftiger Anforderungen an das Unternehmen erfolgt dabei auf der Grundlage von konkreten Zukunftsbildern, die plausible Annahmen über zukünftige Entwicklungen mit unmittelbarer Relevanz für das Unternehmen verdichten.

Wie Competence Foresight vorgeht

In einer ersten Annäherung lässt sich die Vorgehensweise von Competence Foresight in vier Schritten beschreiben:

  1. Competence Mapping: Im ersten Schritt geht es darum, ein umfassendes Bild der gegenwärtig im Unternehmen vorhandenen Kompetenzen zu gewinnen. Unserer Erfahrung nach haben zwar alle Unternehmen ein Verständnis ihrer Kompetenzen. Dieses muss jedoch präzisiert und konkretisiert werden, um im Competence-Foresight-Prozess Nutzen zu entfalten.
  2. Future Competence Requirements: Im zweiten Schritt geht es darum, aus der Innovationsstrategie des Unternehmens zukünftige Kompetenzanforderungen abzuleiten. Der Begriff „Innovationsstrategie“ ist hier in einem weiten Sinne zu verstehen. Er umfasst neue Wachstumsfelder, die die langfristige Innovationsausrichtung prägen werden, aber auch die oben angesprochenen weiteren Dimensionen des Innovationsbegriffs, etwa organisationelle Innovationen oder Innovationen auf der Ebene des Innovationsprozesses selbst.
  3. Gap Analysis: Die Gap-Analyse setzt die Ergebnisse der ersten beiden Schritte in Beziehung zueinander. Legt man die Ergebnisse übereinander, ergeben sich einerseits Insights über mittel- bis langfristige Kompetenzdefizite. Andererseits wird bereits deutlich, welche bereits bestehenden Kompetenzen miteinander verzahnt oder ausgebaut werden müssen, um die Lücke zu schließen.
  4. Competence Strategy: Im vierten Schritt entwickelt das Unternehmen unter Zuhilfenahme etablierter Foresight-Tools – strategischer Optionenraum, Zielbildentwicklung, Roadmapping – eine langfristige Kompetenzstrategie. Diese liegt an der Schnittstelle von Innovationsmanagement, Personal- und Organisationsentwicklung. Spätestens in diesem Prozessschritt sollten deshalb HR-Verantwortliche eingebunden werden, um die Anschlussfähigkeit der Ergebnisse im Unternehmen zu sichern.

Was Competence Foresight leistet

Die Leistung von Competence Foresight besteht darin, die Organisations- und Personalentwicklung im Unternehmen enger an die im Unternehmen bereits vorhandenen Erkenntnisse der strategischen Vorausschau anzubinden. Welche Kompetenzen im Unternehmen auf welche Weise zu entwickeln sind – das hängt davon ab, auf welche Zukunftsfelder das Unternehmen setzt, wie sich das Unternehmen als Organisation weiter entwickeln will, welche Prozessinnovationen im Unternehmen angestoßen werden sollen. Solche Fragen werden häufig in „Big Picture“-orientierten Foresight-Prozessen thematisiert, die inzwischen in vielen Unternehmen zur gelebten Praxis geworden sind. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden allerdings unserer Erfahrung nach noch zu selten als Ressource für die Organisations- und Personalentwicklung genutzt. Genau diese Lücke soll Competence Foresight zu schließen helfen.