Menu
Engineering & Manufacturing 2025+

Building the World

Engineering & Manufacturing 2025+

Product lifecycles are becoming shorter, demand is growing in new markets, customers are increasingly asking for tailored solutions and new technologies are becoming more and more important for the success of a company. Production and supply chain concepts need to adapt to these developments. The report entitled Building the World: A DHL Perspective on Future Engineering & Manufacturing Supply Chains analyses the most important trends and their impact on the E&M sector. It has been produced by Z_punkt in collaboration with DHL Customer Solutions & Innovation.

Publisher: Deutsche Post DHL
Year of publication: 2015

Regional and resilient: supply chains of the future

“Markets are shifting. Today, machine components are manufactured in China before being distributed all over the world. In the future, production sites will have to be located closer to end consumers,” says Johannes Mahn, Senior Foresight Consultant at Z_punkt. The regional focus of production sites and supply chains is one of five key factors for companies in the E&M sector.

“The levels of complexity for supply chain managers will continue to grow,” explains Reg Kenney, President Engineering & Manufacturing at DHL Customer Solutions & Innovation. Supply chains will have to become more resilient, whilst still complying strictly with the different legal regulations and requirements that vary from country to country. Without intelligent and forward-looking risk management process, this would be impossible. The ability to react quickly to changes will become a critical success factor because with every disruption to the supply chain comes a greater risk of lost turnover. Against this backdrop, it will be an advantage to be able in future to identify potential weaknesses early on, to plan suitable contingencies in advance and to create a network of alternative suppliers.

Sustainable and client-focused: capitalise on future potential

Looking forward to 2025, the report’s authors expect a greater utilisation of sustainability concepts within the E&M sector. Customers will increasingly come to select their suppliers on the basis of their ecological balance sheets. At present, industrial production is responsible for 30 per cent of global energy consumption. Many E&M businesses have already reacted to the increased calls for sustainability and begun to make their production processes cleaner and greener. Forwardlooking initiatives, for example, include not only the use of renewable energy and energy efficiency as part of production processes, but also the introduction of cradle-to-cradle designs. Logistics concepts of the future will need to enable better integration and links between all companies involved in the supply chain, guaranteeing the transparency of CO2 emissions across the whole supply chain.

Customers increasingly come to expect more tailored products and ever quicker delivery times. The shift from “customisation” to “on-demand” – a phenomenon that has been observed in the consumer sector for some time now – is exerting an ever stronger influence of the manufacturing sector.

Reacting quickly, efficiently and nimbly to individual customer requests is a huge challenge for a sector that, in the past, has relied on the cost-efficiencies that result from high-volume production runs.

Holger Glockner, Managing Partner of Z_punkt and a co-author of the study

Supply chains of the future will have to cope with un-predictable variations in demand. The solutions lie in new production technologies, such as 3D-printing, real-time logistics concepts like inbound-to-manufacturing or reliance on a ‘lead logistics provider’ who is responsible for all the processes across the supply chain and is in a position to react quickly to fluctuations and new requirements.

Although the multi-faceted nature of the challenges will inevitably lead to greater levels of complexity, it is also represents a huge chance for companies in the E&M sector. Many have already successfully implemented new concepts, although the automobile and IT industries have also provided a source of inspiration and tried-and-tested approaches.

You can find a copy of the white paper on the DHL Website:

Go to DHL Website

Menu
Engineering & Manufacturing 2025+

Produktion und Supply Chains der Zukunft

Engineering & Manufacturing 2025+

Die Produktlebenszyklen werden immer kürzer, die Nachfrage wächst in neuen Märkten, Kunden fragen verstärkt nach individuellen Lösungen und die Nutzung neuer Technologien wird immer wichtiger für den Erfolg. Produktions- und Supply-Chain-Konzepte müssen sich diesen Entwicklungen anpassen. Der Report „Building the World – A DHL Perspective on Future Engineering & Manufacturing Supply Chains“ analysiert die wichtigsten Trends und Implikationen für den E&M-Sektor. Z_punkt erstellte das White Paper im Auftrag und in Kooperation mit DHL Customer Solutions & Innovation.

Herausgeber: Deutsche Post DHL
Erscheinungsjahr: 2015

Regional und resilient: die Supply Chains der Zukunft

Die Märkte verschieben sich. Heute werden Maschinenbauteile in China hergestellt und dann oftmals um die ganze Welt geflogen. Die Produktion wird in Zukunft näher beim Endkonsumenten stattfinden müssen. Die regionale Ausrichtung der Produktion und der Zulieferungsketten ist eine von fünf zentralen Implikationen für Unternehmen im E&M-Sektor.

„Die Komplexität für Supply Chain Manager wird künftig weiter steigen“, das erwartet Reg Kenney, President Engineering & Manufacturing bei DHL Customer Solutions & Innovation. Lieferketten müssen noch widerstandsfähiger werden und strikt die von Land zu Land unterschiedlichen gesetzlichen Regularien und Vorgaben erfüllen. Das ist ohne ein intelligentes und vorausschauendes Risikomanagement nicht zu bewältigen. Die Fähigkeit, schnell auf Veränderungen zu reagieren, wird zentraler Erfolgsfaktor, weil jede Disruption der Lieferkette die Gefahr von Umsatzverlusten erhöht. Aus dieser Perspektive ist es zukünftig von Vorteil, mögliche Schwachstellen frühzeitig zu identifizieren, entsprechende Ausweichrouten vorzuplanen und ein Netzwerk aus alternativen Zulieferern aufzubauen.

Nachhaltig und kundenorientiert: Zukunftschancen nutzen

Mit Blick auf das Jahr 2025 erwarten die Autoren des Reports, dass Nachhaltigkeitskonzepte im E&M-Sektor noch stärker umgesetzt werden. Kunden wählen ihre Zulieferer vermehrt danach aus, wie ihre ökologische Bilanz aussieht. Derzeit ist die industrielle Produktion für 30 Prozent des Energieverbrauchs weltweit verantwortlich. Viele E&M-Unternehmen reagieren bereits auf gestiegene Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen und haben begonnen, ihre Produktion sauberer und grüner zu machen. Zukunftsweisende Initiativen sind zum Beispiel die Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien und Energieeffizienz im Produktionsprozess, aber auch die Einführung von Cradle-to-Cradle-Konzepten. Logistikkonzepte der Zukunft müssen eine bessere Vernetzung und Integration aller an der Lieferkette beteiligten Unternehmen ermöglichen und die Transparenz der Kohlendioxidemissionen entlang der gesamten Lieferkette sicherstellen.

Die Kunden erwarten immer individuellere Produkte und eine immer schnellere Auslieferung. Die Entwicklung hin zu „Customization“ und „On-demand“ – im Consumer-Bereich längst keine Neuheit mehr – beeinflusst immer stärker auch das produzierende Gewerbe.

Auf individuelle Kundenwünsche agil, schnell und effizient zu reagieren ist eine große Herausforderung für einen Sektor, der in der Vergangenheit vor allem auf Kosteneffizienz durch die Produktion hoher Stückzahlen gesetzt hat.Holger Glockner, Geschäftsführer bei Z_punkt und Mit-Autor der Studie

Zukünftige Lieferketten werden mit unvorhersehbaren Variationen der Nachfrage zurechtkommen müssen. Lösungsansätze erwachsen hier aus neuen Produktionstechnologien wie dem 3-D-Druck, aus in Echtzeit gesteuerten Logistikkonzepten wie dem Inbound-to-Manufacturing oder durch den Rückgriff auf einen „Lead Logistics Provider“, der die Prozesse entlang der gesamten Supply Chain verantwortet und in der Lage ist, schnell auf Schwankungen und neue Anforderungen zu reagieren.

Die Vielfalt der Herausforderungen führt zu einer höheren Komplexität, aber auch zu großen Chancen für Unternehmen im E&M-Sektor. Viele setzen bereits erfolgreich innovative Konzepte um. Inspiration und erprobte Applikationen kommen aber auch aus anderen Branchen wie etwa den Automobil- und Technologie-Bereichen.